The Jyotirlingas

The 12 Jyotirlinga Temples

Saurashtre Somanathamcha Srisaile Mallikarjunam| Ujjayinya Mahakalam Omkaramamaleswaram || Paralyam Vaidyanathancha Dakinyam Bheema Shankaram | Setu Bandhethu Ramesam, Nagesam Darukavane||
Varanasyantu Vishwesam Tryambakam Gautameethate| Himalayetu Kedaaram, Ghrishnesamcha shivaalaye|| Etani jyotirlingani, Saayam Praatah Patennarah| Sapta Janma Kritam pApam, Smaranena Vinashyati||”


"Mahadev, the Lord incorporates in Himself, the aura and the holiness of all the twelve JyotirLingas. The grandeur of these places is unique and so is their aura. Devotees line up in great numbers to get glimpses and Darshan of all the JyotirLingas."


Location of the Jyotirlinga temples

Two on the sea shore, three on river banks, four in the heights of the mountains and three in villages located in meadows; the twelve Jyotirlingas are spread out in a unique and interesting way. Every place has been described in glorious words by many, detailing the surroundings. The story of the origins, and the unique blessings that each one of the site has to offer.

Those of us, who go to these temples of Shubhankar Shankar- Jyoti-Sivasthan, receive the holy blessings of the Lord and come back happy, peaceful and blessed. This in indeed depends on one’s devotion and experience too.

  1. Somnath(Gujarat)
  2. Malikarjuna Swami(Andhra Pradesh)
  3. Mahakaleshwar(Madhya Pradesh)
  4. Omkareshwar(Madhya Pradesh)
  5. Kedarnath(Uttarakhand)
  6. Bhimashankar(Maharashtra)
  7. Kashi Vishwanath Temple(Uttar Pradesh)
  8. Trimbakeshwar Shiva Temple(Maharashtra)
  9. Nageshvara Jyotirlinga(Gujarat)
  10. Baidyanath Temple(Jharkhand)
  11. Rameshwar(Tamil Nadu)
  12. Grishneshwar(Maharashtra)
Those who chant the Dwadasa Jyotirlinga Strotram or prayer will attain salvation and enlightenment and be released from this cycle of human existence with all its travails. By worshipping the Lingas, people of all castes, creeds, and color would be freed from all difficulties. By eating the holy offering made to these Lingas (Naivedyam) one would get rid of all the sins instantly.
As a matter of fact, we do the Darshan of the JyotirLingas as a part of our daily life. Sun, Fire, and Light etc., are indeed a part of that great Light. “Om tatsavituvarenye” these magical words of the Gayatri mantra or chant invoke this Supreme light only. By chanting this powerful Mantra, humans can obtain divine power to their life-light or Atmajyothi, and seek wisdom and salvation.
The aura of the Sun rays and the various benefits that can be derived there from is indeed a difficult task to describe in words. This gorgeous life-light is the only thing that is responsible for any and every activity in the universe. We salute this life force.
“Agni” or fire is a great light. For all the activities on the earth, “Fire” is the pivot.
Deepajyoti or light and its greatness is known to all of us, and we offer our prayers to the holy light. The holy Light is offered a place of pride at welcome celebrations and on all auspicious occasions.
“Shubham karoti kalyanam Arogyam Dhanasampada|
Shatru buddhi vinashaya Deepa Jyoti namostute||”
The holy light removes the darkness from the lives of one and all. Darkness means ignorance and it is destroyed by the holy light. The natured light of God makes all our wishes come true when we take a Darshan of it at the Jyotiringas.
Thus, by taking a Darshan of these twelve JyotirLingas the auspicious air surrounding them and the holy pilgrimage will bring happiness, peace, and satisfaction to all.